Abstract

Total duration (RT): 4h (small loop) / 6h (big loop)
Total distance (RT): 9km (small loop) / 11.3km (big loop)
Positive elevation: 500m (small loop) / 700m (big loop)
Difficulty: intermediate
Guide: no

Very well marked ridge and forest trails.
Some very steep sections (bottom trail in the forest and final climb to the pluviometer).
Vertignous but secure ridge trail after the pluviometer.
It is recommended to wear pants to avoid abrasions from Anuhe ferns.

Track

Hike description

Going deeper into the Tipaerui valley, take the left road going up to the private housing estate of Mamaia, following the signs "Pic Vert". When you get to the subdivision gate, you can park at the water tank if you want to follow the big loop. Otherwise, to access the start of the small loop, you can wait for a car to enter or exit the housing estate to cross the gate and go up to find the other water tank on the heights of the subdivision. Make sure not to disturb the residents of the subdivision.

Big loop:

To the left of the water tank, you will see a small path. After a few meters in fairly dense vegetation, cross the dry bed of a stream. An ascent of around 30min begins here to Mount Papaihona, which already offers a magnificent view over Moorea. Some portions of the trail are very steep and can be slippery, good shoes strongly recommended.

From there, walk along the ridge and admire an even more beautiful view of the various valleys and of Moorea. This part is a mountain bike trail made up of many jumps, and a large wooden jumping deck on the heights. When you reach this large deck, a bifurcation awaits you a few meters further. To go up to the pluviometer, turn left. Otherwise, turn right and go down to the subdivision on the other side, in the pine forest.

The ascent to the pluviometer takes about an hour from this junction. You first pass in front of a hunter's shelter on your left. Continue then pass under a vegetal arch, before plunging again into the forest. Follow the path, which is sometimes blocked, but still clearly visible. You reach the pluviometer after a last very steep ascent of around thirty meters elevation.

After the pluviometer, the trail continues on the ridge in the middle of the Anuhe ferns, wear pants to avoid abrasions. The path is sometimes vertiginous, but relatively well marked and without risk. After about 30min on the ridge, you arrive at the Green Peak (or Toanui summit) which culminates at 1167m. Splendid point of view on the mount Aorai which overhangs the waterfall of Loti, the diadem in front of you, and Mount Marau, and of course Moorea behind your back. Beautiful !

Follow the same path for the descent, until the junction of the jumping deck. Turn left and go down to the housing estate water tank through the pine forest. You will find some pretty viewpoints over the Tipaerui valley and the lagoon.

Return to the subdivision gate by going down the road. If the gate is closed, you can go around it on the left, being careful. The circle is complete!

Small loop:

The small loop follows the same route as the big loop from the top of the subdivision. Only the lower parts of the big loop (ascent on the Papaihona ridge and descent into the subdivision) are missing. You can either start with by the track in the forest to the right of the housing estate water tank (chain with "no entry" sign) or cross the subdivision to directly access the ridge.





Photos

Hiking trekking trek trail walk mountain summit The Green Peak Tipaerui Tahiti French Polynesia
Portal starting point

Hiking trekking trek trail walk mountain summit The Green Peak Tipaerui Tahiti French Polynesia
Bottom trail

Hiking trekking trek trail walk mountain summit The Green Peak Tipaerui Tahiti French Polynesia
View over Moorea from Papaihona

Hiking trekking trek trail walk mountain summit The Green Peak Tipaerui Tahiti French Polynesia
Ridge trail

Hiking trekking trek trail walk mountain summit The Green Peak Tipaerui Tahiti French Polynesia
View over Moorea from the ridge

Hiking trekking trek trail walk mountain summit The Green Peak Tipaerui Tahiti French Polynesia
Ridge deck

Hiking trekking trek trail walk mountain summit The Green Peak Tipaerui Tahiti French Polynesia
Path to the pluviometer

Hiking trekking trek trail walk mountain summit The Green Peak Tipaerui Tahiti French Polynesia
Path to the pluviometer

Hiking trekking trek trail walk mountain summit The Green Peak Tipaerui Tahiti French Polynesia
The Green Peak pluviometer

Hiking trekking trek trail walk mountain summit The Green Peak Tipaerui Tahiti French Polynesia
Ridge after the pluviometer

Hiking trekking trek trail walk mountain summit The Green Peak Tipaerui Tahiti French Polynesia
Final view over the diadem





Share this page:

Résumé de la randonnée

Durée totale (A/R): 4h (petite boucle) / 6h (grande boucle)
Distance totale (A/R): 9km (petite boucle) / 11.3km (grande boucle)
Dénivelé positif: 500m (petite boucle) / 700m (grande boucle)
Difficulté: moyenne
Guide: non

Sentiers de crête et de forêt très bien tracés.
Quelques portions très raides (bas du lotissement et montée finale jusqu'au pluviomètre).
Sentier de crête vertigneux mais sécurisé après le pluviomètre.
Prévoir pantalon pour éviter les écorchures de fougères Anuhe.

Tracé de la randonnée

Descriptif de la randonnée

En s'enfonçant dans la vallée de Tipaerui, prenez la route de gauche montant au lotissement privé de Mamaia, en suivant les panneaux "pic vert". Lorsque vous arrivez au portail du lotissement, vous pouvez vous garer au niveau de la citerne si vous voulez faire la grande boucle. Sinon, pour accéder au départ de la petite boucle, vous pouvez attendre qu'une voiture entre ou sorte du lotissement pour franchir le portail et monter jusqu'à l'autre citerne sur les hauteurs du lotissement. Faites en sorte de ne pas déranger les habitants du lotissement.

Grande boucle:

A gauche de la citerne du portail, vous verrez un petit sentier. Après quelques mètres dans une végétation assez dense, traversez le lit asséché d'un ruisseau. Une ascension d'environ 30 min commence ici jusqu'au mont Papaihona, qui offre déjà une magnifique vue sur Moorea. Certaines portions du sentier sont très pentues et peuvent être glissantes, bonnes chaussures fortement conseillées.

A partir de là, longez la crête et admirez une vue toujours plus belle sur les différentes vallées et sur Moorea au loin. Cette partie est une piste de VTT composée de nombreux tremplins de terre, et d'un grand tremplin de bois sur les hauteurs. Lorsque vous atteignez ce grand tremplin, une bifurcation vous attend quelques mètres plus loin. Pour monter au pluviomètre, prenez à gauche. Sinon, prenez à droite et redescendez vers le lotissement par l'autre côté, dans la forêt de pins.

L'ascension jusqu'au pluviomètre dure environ une heure depuis cette bifurcation. Vous passez d'abord devant un abri de chasseurs sur votre gauche. Continuez puis passez sous une arche végétale, avant de vous enfoncer de nouveau dans la forêt. Suivez le sentier, qui est parfois barré ou emcombré, mais toujours bien visible. Vous atteignez le pluviomètre après une dernière ascension très raide d'une trentaine de mètres de dénivelé.

Après le pluviomètre, le sentier continue sur la crête au milieu des fougères Anuhe, prévoir un pantalon pour éviter les écorchures. Le sentier est parfois vertigineux, mais relativement bien tracé et sans risque. Après une trentaine de minutes sur la crête, vous arrivez au pic vert (ou sommet Toanui) qui culmine à 1167m). Point de vue splendide sur le mont Aorai qui surplombe la cascade de Loti, le diadème en face de vous, et le mont Marau, sans oublier Moorea dans votre dos. De toute beauté !

La descente se fait par le même sentier, jusqu'à la bifurcation du tremplin. Prenez à gauche et descendez jusqu'à la citerne du lotissement par la forêt de pins. Vous trouverez quelques jolis points de vue sur la vallée de Tipaerui et le lagon.

Regagnez le portail du lotissement en descendant par la route. Si le portail est fermé, vous pouvez le contourner sur la gauche en faisant attention. La boucle est bouclée!

Petite boucle:

La petite boucle suit le même tracé que la grande à partir du haut du lotissement. Seules les parties basses de la grande boucle (montée sur la crête de Papaihona et descente dans le lotissement) manquent. Vous pouvez au choix démarrer par la piste dans la forêt à droite de la citerne du lotissement (chaine avec panneau "entrée interdite") ou traverser le lotissement pour accéder directement à la crête.

Photos

Rando randonnée pic vert Tipaerui Tahiti
Départ au portail

Rando randonnée pic vert Tipaerui Tahiti
Sentier du bas

Rando randonnée pic vert Tipaerui Tahiti Moorea Papaihona
Vue sur Moorea depuis Papaihona

Rando randonnée pic vert Tipaerui Tahiti crête
Sentier de la crête

Rando randonnée pic vert Tipaerui Tahiti Moorea
Vue sur Moorea depuis la crête

Rando randonnée pic vert Tipaerui Tahiti tremplin
Tremplin de la crête

Rando randonnée pic vert Tipaerui Tahiti
Sentier vers le pluviomètre

Rando randonnée pic vert Tipaerui Tahiti
Sentier vers le pluviomètre

Rando randonnée pic vert Tipaerui Tahiti pluviomètre
Pluviomètre du pic vert

Rando randonnée pic vert Tipaerui Tahiti crête
Crête après le pluviomètre

Rando randonnée pic vert Tipaerui Tahiti vue mont Aorai Marau diadème
Vue finale sur le diadème

Partager cet article: